MEDA102 Assessment 1 Blog

My sketch was related from Coolick who is an American impasto painter. She was my inspiration to sketch this task which can see as picture below. This manifest me the natural of the world influences the way of people living especially peaceful for real life that may be covered under extended health benefit. Therefore, I decided to try my own drawing through following her guideline.

However, some obstacle was placed in my work instruction due to I was concerning more about what exactly artist draw, I kept rewrite the picture in several papers and all was totally fail instruction. By this, I realised what Lewitt states as the most emphasis part of the work is ideas where the simplicity usually is the key successful concepts. This made me more empathy in myself and another because everyone has different styles and tastes of draws. Therefore, I make my instructions without logic needs, just concern on aesthesia.

Original
ORIGINAL FROM COOLICK
21057694_482279055463937_573192453_o
PERSONAL SKETCH

 

Instruction of abstract

  1. Using A3 paper and water colour to draw that relate to the instruction.
  2. Using paint brush size between no. 8 to 10 for drawing instruction.
  3. Use brown water colour to draw the  interweave curving lines about 15 lines that has to be connected , can start from any position of paper.
  4. Use bright green or dark green colour to draw a straight line in both side of 15 interweave curving lines, draw as much as possible.

………………………………………………

The form was modifying from abstracting to instruction due to the original picture was quite confusing as several colour and complicated liner. My purpose for this work is required specific liner that follower can clearly understanding as interweave curving lines and colour fix. This may show how participant have their own perspective. Another concerning is about physical medium which water colour requirement due to it may reflect to how smooth and control involved through participant.

 

OUTCOME FROM PERSON 1

21034948_482279062130603_1593858770_o

 

OUTCOME FROM PERSON 2

21057121_482279065463936_1455039424_o

 

OUTCOME FROM PERSON 3

21057515_482279078797268_2039668703_o

 

The main issue in this work might be through participant two who did not follow the some of instruction where paint brush size was quite small that may not appear as full paper. Additional, first person appeared different due to the paper position where should be landscape compare with other two exclusions however, this is not necessary.

Overall of these attempts have followed the right instruction with correct colour. All of exclusions had their own creative design and imagination which enabled the participant understand easily and related to the ideas that I intended to made basic instruction as I expected. Therefore, the outcome from third person came the closest in average size, layout, and colour to my initial. Thus, I believe that my design was successful.

 

References:

Coolick, A. M. 2017, ‘Bermuda Palm Painting’, Saatchiart, viewed 20 August 2018, < https://www.saatchiart.com/art/Painting-Bermuda-Palm/719467/2729837/view&gt;.

Lewitt, S. 1967, ‘Paragraphs on Conceptual Art’, ArtForum, viewed 22 August 2017, < http://massmoca.org/sol-lewitt/&gt;.

Leave a comment